Mulled Wine

Standard

20140214-012614.jpg

More snow today. A LOT more snow. I’m not sure it will ever stop. Since I was trapped inside all day, I decided to experiment with mulled wine. I received about 12 bottles of wine for my birthday last month and still had a few (okay, two) left so I thought I would put them to good use! I was skeptical at first of how it would turn out (warm wine? ew.) but sure enough, it was delicious! Definitely helped with the cabin fever. Note: To make this recipe sweeter, use sugar instead of honey. Curl up with a book and stay warm with this mulled wine recipe!

Serves: 3-4

Time: 20 minutes

Dietary Info: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free

•1 bottle of red wine (any red table wine works)
•1/4 cup honey
•1 cup water
•3 whole cloves
•3 whole allspice
•2 cinnamon sticks
•1/2 naval orange or 1 clementine, sliced

Add all ingredients except for the wine to medium saucepan and boil for one minute. Reduce heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes, allowing flavors to blend. Add red wine and stir for a minute. Remove from heat. Optional: Pour wine through a fine mesh strainer to remove orange pulp and whole spices. (I don’t mind this so I didn’t bother). Serve with a ladle and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

